Why in the world would I do this in the first place?

I get asked this question a lot. I tell people all of the restrictions of a Whole 30, and they stare at me in shock. Especially if they’re someone who knew me before I began.

So here’s the reason why: I woke up one day and realized all the damage I have subjected my body to in just 21 years (specifically in four years of college). I realized I had gained over twenty pounds, had developed increasingly severe depression, and could barely sleep through a full night. I couldn’t make it through a full day without a nap. I was fed up with not being able to use my body to its fullest capacity because I was feeding it crap.

Does it sound downright idealistic that I can *magically* change my life in just thirty days? Heck yeah. Did it terrify me to take the plunge and eliminate essentially every part of my regular diet? YES. Wasn’t I afraid of failing? Hello, yes. This is me we’re talking about here.

I’m not a big risk taker. I don’t gamble. I always put a seat belt on. The thought of sky diving makes me break into a sweat. So it came as no surprise that I eventually decided to do a Whole30, as I had been pondering the idea since December. I knew I wanted to do a reset, but I had no clue when.

And then it happened. One random Thursday, I made the resolve to start the next day. On a Friday. Who starts a new “diet” on a Friday? Oh yeah, me.

Because I owe thirty days to myself. Thirty days of clean food. Thirty days to change the way I eat and feel so that I can potentially increase my longevity.

So if you’re intrigued, and want to watch the peaks, pits, mental breakdowns, and (likely) laughter, stick around. It’ll get interesting.

 

Leave a Reply

