Days 8 & 9

This weekend was a gladly received break. The past 48 hours had been spent nose-deep in journals searching for new sources for my research proposal due in April, and studying for an exam that I forgot about (still made an A so no sweat). Looking forward, I have my sorority’s philanthropy week (if you wanna donate to child abuse prevention feel free to donate here), and FOUR exams the week before spring break. Four, people. F-o-u-r. And a presentation.

My takeaway? Don’t graduate from college if you don’t want to cry yourself to sleep every night.

JUST KIDDING. I know I could have it way, way worse.

So how does a busy college student do their Whole 30? Planning, lots of planning. That’s how. This program will not be successful if you fail to plan. I’ve been caught in a couple of situations where I didn’t, and it was tough to say the least.

My favorite thing to prep? Chicken salad, tuna salad, and egg salad. These are all things I loved prior to Whole 30, and that’s why they work so well for me. They’re easy to make, and the tuna and chicken salads keep well in an air-tight mason jar. Just throwing some onto a bed of greens and another choice veggie on the side makes a quick and filling lunch or dinner. If I’m home and I have a free afternoon, I like to heat up a couple sweet potato slices and eat my salad on that. Having three different choices helps to keep me from getting too bored, and I can feel confident that I’ve got enough protein and fat on my plate to keep me full.

Another safe bet is frying up some compliant sausage, and throwing in some cauliflower rice, diced sweet potato, onion, and bell pepper or carrot. Simple, but quick and easy enough to make a little extra for leftovers.

I think that’s the second key to doing this program: making it as simple as possible. Of course I love to try some more intricate recipes, but when your body is transitioning from a constant supply of sugar, it’s best to make things as easy on yourself as you possibly can. And remember: the whole reason you probably started in the first place was because your food was way too complex and filled with harmful chemicals and hidden sugars. Our bodies love simple. They know what to do with simple. So make it as easy on yourself, and remember the three necessary components: vegetables, proteins, and healthy fats.

Update on how I’ve been feeling: generally normal. I feel like I still have a little bit more energy than I did before. I’ve definitely been sleeping better, even when my sweet, sweet Bear nudges me awake at 7 a.m. on a Saturday. Finally, my skin is starting to clear up and my keratosis pilaris on my arms has vastly improved. I’m also praying that cutting out sugar and gluten is going to help with the oiliness on my face. Fingers crossed!

Until next time, y’all!

Xoxo, Shelby

Leave a Reply

